Gassner Award

About The Gassner Award

The John Gassner Memorial Playwriting Award Competition fosters new playwrights and scripts through this important competition established by Molly Gassner, wife of theatre historian John Gassner. The Award was created in 1967 to honor the late John Gassner (1903-1967) for his lifetime dedication to all aspects of professional and academic theatre.

The winning script will be given a staged reading at the New England Theatre Conference Annual Convention in October.

Download the application form.

2015 Gassner Award Winner

Jamie Pachino for her play Other Than Honorble

A former Army officer (now lawyer) reluctantly takes on a military sexual assault case, re-opening old wounds, and forcing her to confront her past, along with the real meaning of the military’s code of honor.

James McLindon Jamie Pachino is an award winning playwright, screenwriter and television writer. Her work has been produced in four countries, commissioned, published and honored.

Learn more about Jamie Pachino through her website at