Aurand Harris Memorial Playwriting Award

The 21st Annual Aurand Harris Memorial Playwrighting Award


This award was created in 1997 to honor the late Aurand Harris (1915-1996) for his lifetime dedication to all aspects of professional theatre for young audiences.

A panel of judges named by the NETC Executive Board will administer this award. A staged reading of the prize-winning scripts will be held along with the Annual Excellence in Theatre Awards ceremony.


  • The contest is open to all playwrights and is for new full-length plays for young audiences. No musicals nor plays targeted at adult audiences
  • All plays will be submitted online to
  • Plays submitted to the contest must not have been
  1.  previously published
  2. submitted to NETC’s Gassner Playwriting Contest
  3. previously produced by a professional or Equity company.
  • Plays submitted which have had workshop productions or staged readings are eligible and encouraged.
  • Plays submitted to this contest may have been submitted to another playwriting contest, and may have previously won a prize or an award in another contest. However, such plays must not have been published or professionally produced and must not be under option for publication or professional production.
  • Playwrights may submit only one play to the contest in one year.

The play must be submitted, along with:

  • a statement that the play will not have been published or professionally produced as of May 1, 2019, and that it is not under option for publication or professional production and will not be under such option as of May 1, 2019.
  • a list of the play’s workshop and non-professional productions, if any, and awards received, if any.
  • ALL manuscripts and enclosures must be emailed to:
  • Only manuscripts submitted electronically will be considered.
  • Plays that do not meet the above requirements will not be considered.


2018 Aurand Harris Winner

In Dreams, I Am Invincible by Andrew Geha

Previous Aurand Harris Winners

  • 2017 Mulligrubs by Ilana Lydia
  • 2016 Journeying Jack by Jack and David Novak
  • 2015 No winners
  • 2014 The Shahrazad Society by Ramon Esquivel
  • 2013 Bloom by Andrew Morton (1st)
  • 2013 Sing a Porpoise Home by Daniel A. Kelin II (2nd)
  • 2012 Don and Wally - A Comedy of an Accidental Visit by Gordon LePage (1st)
  • 2012 What We Lost Along the Way by Corrine Esme Glanville (2nd)
  • 2011 The Transition of Doodle Pequeno by Gabriel Jason (1st)
  • 2011 The South Overlook Oaks by Miriam Gonzales (2nd)
  • 2010 The Tanzanite Princess by Laura Edmonson (1st)
  • 2010 Gathering Blue by Matt Omasta (2nd)
  • 2009 The Scrying Glass by Esme J. Sammons (1st)
  • 2009 Puss 'N Boots by Steph DeFerie (2nd)
  • 2008 Cully's Gold by Carol Korty and Susa Wuorinen
  • 2007 By Candlelight by Claudia Haas (1st)
  • 2007 Drama For Dionysus by Johanna Halperin, (2nd)
  • 2006 Telling William Tell by Evan Guilford-Blake (1st)
  • 2006 Yorkshire Fairytale by Thomas H. Diggs (2nd)
  • 2005 The Patchwork Girl of Oz by Albert T. Viola (1st)
  • 2005 Alice in War by Steven Bogart (2nd)
  • 2004 No winners
  • 2003 In the Garden of the Selfish Giant by Sandra Fenichel Asher
  • 2002 The Life of Aesop by Kenneth Cavander
  • 2001 The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Mary and Andrew Arnault
  • 2000 Riding the Wind by Carol Korty
  • 1999 Searching for David's Heart by Cherie Bennett
  • 1998 Devon's Hurt by Laurie Brooks Gollobin (1st)
  • 1998 The Printer's Devil by David Paul Simon (2nd)
  • 1997 Inauguration of Harris Award by Lowell Swortzell